Skip to main content

Referencing and Research Help: Google Scholar

This guide will assist you with your research skills so that you can learn to access and use information.

How to link Google Scholar to TAFE NSW Libraries holdings

Google Scholar allows you to search specifically for scholarly material on the web.
However, it's important to be aware that Google Scholar searches both peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed information, as well as requiring you to pay for some articles.

Many of the Google Scholar results are available through our library subscription databases. 
You can setup Google Scholar to display articles which are available free in the TAFE NSW library databases.

Follow the instructions below to link Google Scholar to TAFE NSW librariesAsk a Librarian for assistance - its what we do best!

Go to Google Scholar https://scholar.google.com.au

1. Click on the Menu icon
in the top left for setup options

 

 

 

2. In the menu, click on Settings to setup your Library Links.

 

3. On the Settings page, click on Library Links.

4. Type TAFE NSW in the search box and press Enter.

5. Select TAFE NSW Libraries - Find @ TAFE NSW Libraries.

6. Click on SAVE.

Searching Google Scholar

Execute a search in Google Scholar.

If any results are available through TAFE NSW eResources, a Find@TAFE NSW Libraries link will display.

Click on the link and login with your TAFE Username and Password.

 

You will see a list of all the links to this article in TAFE NSW database subscriptions.

Click on one of the links - in this example, we selected EBSCOhost.

 

 

The TAFE Authentication page will display again. If you haven't already logged in, login with your TAFE Username and Password.

If you have logged in before, you only need to click on the "Click here to continue" link to go to the article.

Using the Citation Tools and Related Articles in Google Scholar

Google Scholar also provides links to additional articles via the Related Articles and Cited by links shown under the search results.

 

 

 

 

Cite from Google Scholar

  1. Click on Cite below the search result (or the  quotation marks if they appear instead)
  2. Select a style. eg. Harvard.
  3. Copy and paste the citation into your Reference List.

 

 

Always check the references against your teachers referencing guide and make changes if required.

 

Google Scholar

Free PDFs in Google Scholar Results

  1. In your search results, items identified with [PDF] are freely available.
    Click on the [PDF] link at the right of the title to open the article.
     
  2. Use our Find eJournals search engine to see if articles you find are indexed in library databases. Instructions here.

Find eJournals

What if you find a good journal article in Google - but it's not free online? Check if the library databases hold it! 
Find eJournals
 allows you to search for journal titles indexed by TAFE NSW library databases.

  1. For example, in Google Scholar, you located the following article: 
    Krantz, A., Shukla, V., Knox, M. and Schrouder, K., 2017. Violent video games exposed: a blow by blow account of senseless violence in games. The Journal of psychology151(1), pp.76-87.
  2. To get access in Google Scholar you have to login to the journal or purchase the article.
    However, you may find this journal in one of the library subscriptions.
  3. Go to the eResources page and click on Find eJournals, which takes you to the resource Full Text Finder.
  4. Type in the name "journal of psychology" in the publications search box.
  5. Click on the link to The Journal of Psychology in the results (or go to one of the databases that indexes it)
  6. You can then search within the publication. Type keywords from the article to retrieve the article 
    eg: violent video games exposed

Using Find eJournals (Full Text Finder)