Skip to main content

Library Locations: Student Information

Hunter TAFE libraries provide a supportive learning environment for students and staff. Friendly, qualified library staff offer professional assistance with locating information resources and provide training in information searching skills.

Borrowing

TAFEcard

TAFE NSW students and staff can borrow from any TAFE NSW Library, including the 14 campus libraries across the Hunter and Central Coast regions. 

To borrow and use the library, you must be a current TAFE student with a TAFEcard, or be a recognised Associate Borrower. 

You can search and locate items held in TAFE NSW libraries through the TAFE NSW Library Network Catalogue.
 

TAFE NSW Students can borrow a total of 15 items, with limits on the number of items you can borrow of particular formats, such as DVDs and CDs. Most books and magazines are loaned to students for two weeks, while DVDs and CDs are loaned for one to two weeks.

Items on closed reserve have restricted loan periods. Contact your local campus library for local loan conditions.

Not all campus libraries may hold the items you need. Your local library can obtain items for you from other TAFE NSW libraries on an inter-library loan (ILL). This service is free of charge but some conditions apply. Requests can be made by phone, in person or by using the ILL request form. Contact your local campus library for details.

Viewing and renewing your loans online

You can renew your loans by either contacting your campus library, or using the Library Catalogue (TAFEcat) to access your library account.

To renew via the Library catalogue login to your TAFEcat account by entering your details in the Renew My Library Loans box.

Check the View and Renew My Loans Guide to learn how to renew your loans on TAFEcat.

Renew my Library Loans

 
Contact your library to set up a pin

Overdue Loans

Overdue items cannot be renewed.

Students who borrow from TAFE NSW Libraries accept responsibility for all Library items issued on their TAFEcard, and agree to return all items by the due date. If the items are not returned by the due date, Library privileges may be suspended. Hunter TAFE students in breach of the Student Discipline Policy for overdue material may incur a number of penalties including:

  • a fine of $10 per item
  • replacement costs of the item if it is not returned, or damaged
  • withholding of result notices or employer report until the debt is paid

Library charges for overdue loans - your questions answered

Other Borrowers

TAFE Digital students are entitled to use any TAFE NSW library. To borrow you will need to obtain a TAFEcard, which will be your library ID card. Visit your closest TAFE campus to have a TAFEcard photograph taken and to access the library. Be sure to check library-opening times before you visit and bring enrolment documentation and ID with you.

Members of the public can join the library as associate borrowers (conditions and fees apply). Associate membership can be for one term, one semester or one year. Refer to the Associate Borrowing Guide for more information.

Back to TOP

Student Library Notices via Email Opt-in Form

This form is used for TAFE NSW students to nominate that they would prefer to receive notices from TAFE NSW libraries via email.

  • Library notices (such as holds pickup and overdue notices) will be emailed to your TAFE NSW email address.
  • If your TAFE NSW email address changes you must contact a TAFE NSW Library as soon as possible.
  • If you no longer wish to receive your Library notices via email, you may opt-out at any time by contacting a TAFE NSW Library.

You can redirect email from your TAFE account to your personal email account. Follow the instructions below.

Computers and Printing

  • Computers offer access to the Internet, online resources, Microsoft Office and Adobe programs, as well as other specialist software. To use computers in the library you must be a current TAFE student with a TAFEcard.
  • You will need a USB drive or CD to save your work.
  • You will be issued with a username and password at enrolment. Keep a record of this as you will need it to access computers and WiFi on campus, and library databases and student email anywhere. Ask your teacher or library staff if you need assistance with your username and password.
  • Wireless access is available in the library. Refer to the Wireless Connection Guide, or ask library staff for details on how to login.
  • Printing is paid for with your TAFEcard. A recharge machine is available in the library to load money onto your TAFEcard. No change is available so please bring your own.

Back to TOP

Harassment Free TAFE

TAFE NSW is required by law to ensure the health and safety of students, staff and visitors on our premises.

All staff and students are entitled to work and learn in an environment which is free from harassment.

Watch the Harassment Free TAFE video as part of your student induction:

 

Information Resources

TAFE NSW Library Catalogue - TAFEcat

  • The TAFE NSW Library Catalogue (TAFEcat) is available at http://tafecat.tafensw.edu.au/tafecat.html, or can be accessed directly from the library webpage. The catalogue lists the holdings of all TAFE NSW Libraries. You can also renew your own loans through TAFEcat.

Databases and eBooks:

  • A range of Databases and eBooks are available - including full-text journals, eBooks and Australian Standards. These can be accessed at a TAFE campus, and externally.
  • Database Logins - Some databases require you to login with your TAFE Username and Password, others require specific logins. The database passwords are available on Equella, using your TAFE username and password to access. Contact your TAFE NSW Library if you need assistance.
    Access is restricted to current Hunter TAFE students and staff, and TAFE Digital students living in the Hunter TAFE region.
  • Instruction Guides to databases and library services can be found by clicking on the PDF symbol beside each database title on the eResources page

Inter-Library Loans

  • If you find a course related item in the TAFEcat that is held at another TAFE Library you can request to borrow that item. Contact your local campus library or the use the Inter-Library Loan Form to place a request.

Special Reserve

  • High demand items, or material provided by teachers can be held behind the Loans Desk for restricted loan periods. See library staff if you wish to access items on Reserve.

Subject Guides (called LibGuides)

  • LibGuides provide research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by your friendly librarians. Know what we know - find it in LibGuides!

Back to TOP

Inter-Library Loans

Material held in another TAFE library may be borrowed for you on Inter-Library Loan, provided that it is course-related. There is no charge for this service, but some conditions apply:

  • Inter-library loans will not be requested for students who have overdue loans on their record.
  • Renewing inter-library loans is at the discretion of the lending library, and is limited to two renewals only. Overdue items cannot be renewed.
  • Further conditions may apply, check with your local campus library for details.

You can request inter-library loans at your local campus library, or use the Inter-Library Loan Request Form.

Back to TOP

Passwords and Logins

Once you enrol in a TAFE NSW course you will be provided with your TAFE username and password. You must have this username and password to access the Internet from all campus computers. It is also used to login to access some of the databases available to Hunter TAFE Students.


Your TAFE username and password also gives you access to the TAFE Student Portal - https://my.tafensw.edu.au which provides links to:

  • your TAFE email account
  • TAFE student eServices
  • Course information


If you have problems with your TAFE username or password, library or campus administration staff can assist you.

Back to TOP

Reciprocal Borrowing Agreements

  • Newcastle University students and staff - Students and staff of the University of Newcastle can also join their local TAFE Library  as an Associate Borrower - conditions and fees apply. Refer to the Associate Borrowing guidelines below for details.
  • Ourimbah Campus Hunter TAFE students and staff are entitled to use their TAFEcard at Ourimbah Campus Library - a joint venture of the Hunter TAFE and the University of Newcastle. Take your TAFEcard and proof of current enrolment on your first visit.

Back to TOP

Referencing and Bibliographies

The Research Help LibGuide contains all the information you will need to help you reference correctly in assignments, and create a bibliography.

The following handouts on referencing provide guidelines on how to reference sources using the APA and Harvard Referencing Systems.

Back to TOP

Reserve

  • Material in high demand, or class materials provided by teachers, are often placed on Reserve and kept behind the loans desk.
  • These materials are available for restricted loan periods (eg. 2 hour, overnight, 3 or 7 day loan).

Back to TOP

Rooms and Facilities

  • Depending on their size, most libraries offer a range of study and casual seating, and group study rooms for student and class group use. Rooms usually include TV, DVD equipment and whiteboard. Electronic whiteboards and Smartboards may also be available.
  • Most rooms are equipped with TV, equipment and a whiteboard. Electronic whiteboards and Smartboards may also be available. Bookings are usually required - contact your local library for more information.

Back to TOP

Software for Students

Microsoft is offering TAFE NSW students free access to the Microsoft Office 365 Suite
Sign up today for free

Students can now sign up for their own version of Office 365 ProPlus, the cloud-based Microsoft productivity tools used worldwide.

Microsoft Office 365 is an automatically updatable, subscription-based software which ensures our students always have the latest version of Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote for as long as they are a student and the program continues.

Office 365 ProPlus lets you access assignments in shared workspaces, synchronise your notes with OneNote, and communicate and collaborate on projects with familiar applications like Word, PowerPoint and Excel – anywhere, anytime and across virtually any device.


Benefits of your free Office 365 subscription include:

• Install on up to five compatible PCs and Macs, plus five tablets (including iPad)
• Use with OneDrive for automatic device syncing
• Gain valuable skills on the world’s most popular productivity software
• Use the same programs as your teachers to ensure full file reliability


To get your free Office 365 download, visit Office.com/GetOffice365 and follow the download instructions using your TAFE email address. View the guide below for more information

Student Portal

The TAFE Student Portal - https://my.tafensw.edu.au provides links to:

  • your TAFE "My Email" account
  • TAFE student eServices
  • Course information


Once you enrol in a TAFE NSW course you will be provided with your TAFE username and password. This will give you access to the TAFE Portal from anywhere via the internet.

Your TAFE Username and Password are also used to login to computers on a TAFE campus, and to access library databases.

If you have problems with your TAFE username or password, library or campus administration staff can assist you.

Mail in your TAFE email account can be autoforwarded to your personal email account if required. Refer to the following instructions:

Back to TOP

Tours and Training

Library staff deliver a range of training for individuals and groups. Classes are designed to develop information skills and promote effective resource use.

  • Library orientation tours - introduce Library services, resources, and facilities.
  • Internet Skills - an introduction to search strategies, search engines and directories
  • Information skills - training develops search skills and strategies for tracking down useful resources from print, electronic and online sources. Covers use of the TAFE Library Catalogue and the Hunter TAFE online Databases.

Contact your campus library to discuss your information needs and book training.

Back to TOP

USI - Creating your Unique Student Identifier (USI)

All students studying nationally recognised training in Australia from 1 January 2015 will be required to have a Unique Student Identifier (USI).
A USI is an account (or reference number) made up of numbers and letters. You must have one to enrol in a TAFE course.
Your USI will allow you online access to your training records and results (transcript) through your online USI account.

Instructions for creating a USI are below - contact or visit your TAFE Library if you have questions or need assistance.

Wireless Access for Students

TAFE NSW provides wireless connectivity in various locations on campus. (eg Libraries and some classrooms).
Staff and students may utilise this wireless service to connect with their personal wireless ready notebook/laptop or smartphone to provide access to the Internet via a web browser.

How to Connect laptops:

  • Turn on your notebook/laptop wireless device.
  • Select the wireless network “TAFENSW”.
  • Click on the connect button. Your wireless device status should indicate that you are now connected.
  • Open your Internet web browser and commence browsing.
  • If you are prompted for authentication, please enter your TAFE username (firstname. lastname) and password. Ask Library staff for assistance if you don't know your TAFE Username.

How to connect mobile devices (phones, tablets):

In order to connect mobile devices, you may also be required to configure your proxy settings.
Refer to the Wireless Connection Guides for instructions, or ask Library staff for assistance.

WiFi