Skip to main content

Library Locations: Staff information

Hunter TAFE libraries provide a supportive learning environment for students and staff. Friendly, qualified library staff offer professional assistance with locating information resources and provide training in information searching skills.

Information for Staff

TAFE
TAFE NSW Libraries have the following services available to support the teaching and learning needs of TAFE staff:

Information Resources

  • The TAFE NSW Library Catalogue (TAFEcat) is available at http://tafecat.tafensw.edu.au/tafecat.html, or can be accessed directly from the library webpage. The catalogue lists the holdings of all TAFE NSW Libraries. You can also renew your own loans through TAFEcat.
  • Inter-Library Loans from the TAFE NSW Library network are available - request at your campus library, or use the Inter-Library Loan Form.
  • A range of databases and eBooks are available - including full-text journals, eBooks and Australian Standards.
    These can be accessed at a TAFE campus, and externally. Some databases require you to login with your staff Username and Password, others require specific logins. The database passwords are available on Equella, using your TAFE username and password to access.
  • Special Reserve - high demand items, or teacher's personal materials can be held behind the Loans Desk for restricted loan periods. See library staff if you wish to place items on Reserve.
  • New Resources - Staff are encouraged to recommend books and other resources for purchase, as this helps us to maintain a relevant collection. Use the Purchase Request Form, or contact library staff.
    If you are recommending resources to your students, don't forget to give the library a copy of the list.
    A list of new resources in the collection of your local campus library is available on their library webpage.

Back to TOP

Facilities

  • Computers
    Staff can use any computer in the library to access TAFE email, the TAFE Portal or Microsoft Office programs. Contact library staff to book a computer.
    Most libraries have computer areas dedicated for class use. If you require access to computers for your class, contact library staff to make a booking.
     
  • Photocopying and printing
    Staff use a their TAFEcard, or PIN number (available from your teaching section) to pay for printing and photocopying. Staff must log onto the computer to send print jobs to the FollowMe print queue, which may be collected from any staff printer/copier (MultiFunction Device - MFD) on campus.
     
  • Rooms and equipment
    Most libraries offer group study rooms and seminar rooms for student and class use. Rooms usually include TV, DVD equipment and whiteboard. Electronic whiteboards and Smartboards may also be available.
    Other equipment such as data projectors, laptops and netbooks, digital and video cameras, portable TV/DVD players are available for short term loan. Bookings are required - contact your campus library for local information, and to make a booking.

Back to TOP

Library Training

All libraries offer introductory library tours, and a range of specialised tutorials for you and your classes.

  • Library orientation tours introduce Library services, resources and facilities - approximately 20 minutes.
  • Tutorial sessions - the introductory tour should be followed up with in-depth tutorial sessions, such as:
    • catalogue and database training
    • searching the internet
    • referencing, plagiarism and bibliographies.

Library staff can customise training to subjects and information sources of your choice.

Please contact your campus library staff for details of training available at your campus, and to make bookings.

Back to TOP

Reciprocal Borrowing Agreements

  • Newcastle University students and staff - Students and staff of the University of Newcastle can also join their local TAFE Library  as an Associate Borrower - conditions and fees apply. Refer to the Associate Borrowing guidelines below for details.
  • Ourimbah Campus Hunter TAFE students and staff are entitled to use their TAFEcard at Ourimbah Campus Library - a joint venture of the Hunter TAFE and the University of Newcastle. Take your TAFEcard and proof of current enrolment on your first visit.

Back to TOP

Setting Student Passwords in EMU (Educational Management Utility)

One of the tasks teachers are often asked to do is to assist students with passwords.
Teachers can reset student passwords using EMU (Educational Management Utility). EMU can be used to reset passwords for an entire class.
This system is accessed by logging into the Staff Portal.

Refer to the handout below for instructions.

Back to TOP

Software Offers for Staff

Staff Software for Use at Home

NSW TAFE employees (including full-time and part-time NSW TAFE teachers) can purchase genuine Microsoft and Adobe software at drastically reduced prices. Go to https://tafensw.onthehub.com/.

First time users will need to click the "Register" button to create an account with their tafensw.edu.au email address, before being able to purchase software (return users can log in with their existing tafensw.edu.au email account and password – then click SIGN IN button)

  • at the account verification screen, enter your full TAFE email address (e.g. joe.smith21@tafensw.edu.au) and click CONTINUE button
  • at the account registration screen, enter your First Name, Last Name and a Password (password must be at least six characters long)
  • in the proof of eligibility section, select from dropdown if you are FACULTY or STAFF group member
  • at the bottom of the page, verify the text or audio in the security authentication section then click the REGISTER button to continue
  • the eligibility screen will display that an email has been sent to your registered tafensw.edu.au email address requiring you to confirm verification by clicking the link contained in the email
  • your browser will then return to the home page of the Webstore, displaying software titles on the screen.

Back to TOP