Skip to main content

TAFE NSW Newcastle Library: Staff Information 2020

Keep up to date!

Keep up to date with our Teacher Support Workplace page.  

 

Information Resources

  • The TAFE NSW Library Catalogue (TAFEcat) is available at https://tafecat.tafensw.edu.au/tafecat.html, or can be accessed directly from the library webpage. The catalogue lists the holdings of all TAFE NSW Libraries. You can also renew your own loans through TAFEcat.
  • Inter-Library Loans from the TAFE NSW Library network are available - request at your local TAFE library, or use the Inter-Library Loan Form.
  • A range of databases and eBooks are available - including full-text journals, eBooks and Australian Standards.
    These can be accessed at a TAFE site, and externally. Some databases require you to login with your staff Username and Password, others require specific logins. The database passwords are available online using your TAFE username and password to access.
  • Special Reserve - high demand items, or teacher's personal materials can be held behind the Loans Desk for restricted loan periods. See library staff if you wish to place items on Reserve.
  • New Resources - Staff are encouraged to recommend books and other resources for purchase, as this helps us to maintain a relevant collection. Use the Purchase Request Form, or contact library staff.
    If you are recommending resources to your students, don't forget to give the library a copy of the list.
    A list of new resources in the collection of your local TAFE library is available on their library webpage.

 

To contact library staff at Newcastle, phone 49237725 or email hunter.newcastlelibrary@tafensw.edu.au

Back to TOP

Library Training

All libraries offer library orientation tours, and a range of specialised information sessions for you and your classes.

  • Library orientation tours introduce Library services, resources and facilities - approximately 20 minutes.
  • Information sessions - the introductory tour can be followed up with in-depth information session, such as:
    • catalogue and database training
    • searching the internet
    • referencing, plagiarism and bibliographies.

Library staff can customise training to subjects and information sources of your choice.

Please contact your campus library staff for details of training available at your campus, and to make bookings.

Back to TOP

Setting Student Passwords in EMU (Educational Management Utility)

One of the tasks teachers are often asked to do is to assist students with passwords.
Teachers can reset student passwords using EMU (Educational Management Utility). EMU can be used to reset passwords for an entire class.
This system is accessed by logging into the Staff Portal.

Refer to the handout below for instructions.

Back to TOP

Library Services during COVID-19 Restrictions