Skip to main content

TAFE NSW Newcastle Library: Student Information 2020

Need Help?

 

The Book a Librarian service provides help with the following:
     using online databases
     eBooks
     referencing
Sessions can be tailored to suit your specific requirements.  
Phone us on 02 49237728 or
Email: hunter.newcastlelibrary@tafensw.edu.au
to organise a Skype, TEAMS or phone session.
 

 

Study Centre

The Study Centre is available in the library by appointment only on Mondays between the hours of 12pm and 2pm.  Please see attached document for booking details.

Borrowing

TAFEcard

TAFE NSW students and staff can borrow from any TAFE NSW Library. 

To borrow and use the library, you must be a current TAFE student with a TAFEcard, or be a recognised Associate Borrower. 

You can search and locate items held in TAFE NSW libraries through the TAFE NSW Library Network Catalogue.
 

TAFE NSW Students can borrow a total of 10 items, with a limit of 4 DVDs.
Most items can be loaned for two weeks - some local conditions may apply.

Items on closed reserve have restricted loan periods. Contact the library for local loan conditions.

We may be able to obtain obtain items for you from other TAFE NSW libraries on an inter-library loan (ILL). This service is free of charge but some conditions apply. Requests can be made by phone, in person or by using the ILL request form. Contact us for details.

Viewing and renewing your loans online

You can renew your loans by either contacting us or using the Library Catalogue (TAFEcat) to access your library account.

To renew via the Library catalogue login to your TAFEcat account by entering your details in the Renew My Library Loans box.

Check the View and Renew My Loans Guide to learn how to renew your loans on TAFEcat.

Renew my Library Loans

 
Contact your library to set up a pin

Overdue Loans

Overdue items that cannot be renewed.

Students who borrow from TAFE NSW Libraries accept responsibility for all Library items issued on their TAFEcard, and agree to return all items by the due date. Newcastle Library is open and accepting returns via their external returns chute.  If you are self isolating and cannot return items due to COVID-19, it is preferred that you post the items back to the library so that other students have access to them.   

Other Borrowers

TAFE Digital students are entitled to use any TAFE NSW library. To borrow you will need to obtain a TAFEcard, which will be your library ID card. Visit your closest TAFE campus to have a TAFEcard photograph taken and to access the library. Be sure to contact the library before you visit to confirm what identification you will need to bring.

 

For library staff assistance, phone 49237725 or email hunter.newcastlelibrary@tafensw.edu.au

 

Back to TOP

Student Library Notices via Email Opt-in Form

This form is used for TAFE NSW students to nominate that they would prefer to receive notices from TAFE NSW libraries via email.

  • Library notices (such as holds pickup and overdue notices) will be emailed to your TAFE NSW email address.
  • If your TAFE NSW email address changes you must contact a TAFE NSW Library as soon as possible.
  • If you no longer wish to receive your Library notices via email, you may opt-out at any time by contacting a TAFE NSW Library.

You can redirect email from your TAFE account to your personal email account. Follow the instructions below.

Computers and Printing

  • Computers offer access to the Internet, online resources, Microsoft Office and Adobe programs, as well as other specialist software. To use computers at TAFE you must be a current TAFE student with a TAFEcard.
  • A limited number of computers are available in  the library.  More computers are also available in room S.1.28 and S.1.29.
  • You will need a USB drive to save your work.
  • You will be issued with a username and password at enrollment. Keep a record of this as you will need it to access computers and WiFi on campus, and library databases and student email anywhere. Ask your teacher or library staff if you need assistance with your username and password.
  • Wireless access is available in the library. Refer to the Wireless Support Guide, or ask library staff for details on how to login.

 

 

For library staff assistance, phone 49237725 or email hunter.newcastlelibrary@tafensw.edu.au

Back to TOP

Harassment Free TAFE

TAFE NSW is required by law to ensure the health and safety of students, staff and visitors on our premises.

All staff and students are entitled to work and learn in an environment which is free from harassment.

Watch the Harassment Free TAFE video as part of your student induction:

 

Information Resources

TAFE NSW Library Catalogue - TAFEcat

  • The TAFE NSW Library Catalogue (TAFEcat) is available at https://tafecat.tafensw.edu.au/tafecat.html, or can be accessed directly from the library webpage. The catalogue lists the holdings of all TAFE NSW Libraries. You can also renew your own loans through TAFEcat.

Databases and eBooks:

  • A range of Databases and eBooks are available - including full-text journals, eBooks and Australian Standards. These can be accessed at a TAFE campus, and externally.
  • Database Logins - Some databases require you to login with your TAFE Username and Password, others require specific logins. The database passwords are available online using your TAFE username and password to access. Contact your TAFE NSW Library if you need assistance.
    Access for some databases is restricted to current Hunter TAFE students and staff, and TAFE Digital students living in the Hunter TAFE region.
  • Instruction Guides to databases and library services can be found by clicking on the PDF symbol beside each database title on the eResources page

Inter-Library Loans

  • If you find a course related item in the TAFEcat that is held at another TAFE Library you can request to borrow that item. Contact your local campus library or the use the Inter-Library Loan Form to place a request.

Special Reserve

  • High demand items, or material provided by teachers can be held behind the Loans Desk for restricted loan periods. Contact library staff if you wish to access items on Reserve.

Subject Guides (called LibGuides)

  • LibGuides provide research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by your friendly librarians. Know what we know - find it in LibGuides.

 

For library staff assistance, phone 49237725 or email hunter.newcastlelibrary@tafensw.edu.au

Back to TOP

Inter-Library Loans

Material held in another TAFE library may be borrowed for you on Inter-Library Loan, provided that it is course-related. There is no charge for this service, but some conditions apply:

  • Inter-library loans will not be requested for students who have overdue loans on their record.
  • Renewing inter-library loans is at the discretion of the lending library, and is limited to two renewals only. Overdue items cannot be renewed.
  • Further conditions may apply, check with your local campus library for details.

You can request inter-library loans at your local campus library, or use the Inter-Library Loan Request Form.

Back to TOP

Passwords and Logins

Once you enrol in a TAFE NSW course you will be provided with your TAFE username and password. You must have this username and password to access campus computers. It is also used to login to access some of the databases available to TAFE Students.


Your TAFE username and password also gives you access to the TAFE Student Portal - https://my.tafensw.edu.au which provides links to:

  • your TAFE email account
  • TAFE student eServices
  • Course information


If you have problems with your TAFE username or password, library staff can assist you.

For library staff assistance, phone 49237725 or email hunter.newcastlelibrary@tafensw.edu.au

Back to TOP

Referencing and Bibliographies

The Referencing Skills LibGuide contains all the information you will need to help you reference correctly in assignments, and create a bibliography.

The following handouts on referencing provide guidelines on how to reference sources using the APA and Harvard Referencing Systems.

Back to TOP

USI - Creating your Unique Student Identifier (USI)

All students studying nationally recognised training in Australia are required to have a Unique Student Identifier (USI).
A USI is an account (or reference number) made up of numbers and letters. You must have one to enrol in a TAFE course.
Your USI will allow you online access to your training records and results (transcript) through your online USI account.

Instructions for creating a USI are below - contact your TAFE Library if you have questions or need assistance.

Wireless Access for Students

TAFE NSW provides wireless connectivity in various locations on campus. (eg Libraries and some classrooms).
Staff and students may utilise this wireless service to connect with their personal wireless ready notebook/laptop or smartphone to provide access to the Internet via a web browser.

How to Connect laptops:

  • Turn on your notebook/laptop wireless device.
  • Select the wireless network “TAFENSW”.
  • Click on the connect button. Your wireless device status should indicate that you are now connected.
  • Open your Internet web browser and commence browsing.
  • If you are prompted for authentication, please enter your TAFE username (firstname. lastname) and password. Ask Library staff for assistance if you don't know your TAFE Username.

How to connect mobile devices (phones, tablets):

In order to connect mobile devices, you may also be required to configure your proxy settings.
Refer to the Wireless Connection Guides for instructions, or contact Library staff for assistance.

 

Wireless Support

WiFi

Library Services during COVID-19 Restrictions